Alex Bregman Continues LSU’s World Series Legacy – LSU

Baton Rouge, Louisiana — Third baseman Alex Bregman backed a world-winner as the Houston Astros beat the Philadelphia Phillies 4-1 at Minute Maid Park on Saturday night. List of former LSU Tigers for the series champions.

Bregman won his second World Series ring with the Astros, who also beat the Los Angeles Dodgers to win the 2017 Fall Classic.

Beginning with New York Giants infielder Alvin Dark in 1954, 15 former LSU Tigers played on the 20-time World Series champion team.

Bregman helped lead the 2022 Astros to the American League pennant for the fourth time in six seasons. A two-time AL All-Star, 2018 All-Star Game MVP and 2019 Silver-League winner, he hit .259 in the regular season with 38 doubles, 23 homers, 93 RBIs and 93 runs.

Also Read :  COP27 delivers climate fund breakthrough at cost of progress on emissions

Bregman collected three doubles, one homer, four RBIs and four runs to help Houston beat the Phillies in six World Series games.

He hit .333 (5-of-15) and .333 (5-of-15) in Houston’s division series sweep of the Seattle Mariners and .333 (5-of-15) in the league championship series sweep of the Seattle Mariners. The New York Yankees had one double, one homer and four RBIs.

Bregman hit 15 home runs and 47 RBIs in MLB’s 86 playoff games, the most by a third baseman in a playoff game in MLB history.

Bregman, who completed his seventh season with the Astros on Saturday night, was the second overall pick in the 2015 Major League Baseball draft.

Also Read :  Justin Verlander to start Game 5 2022 World Series

He played shortstop at LSU from 2013 to 2015 and led the Tigers to two College World Series appearances. He was twice named to the Tigers’ All-American First Team and was named the recipient of the 2013 Brooks Wallace Award as the nation’s best shortstop.

Here is the list of former LSU players who became World Series champions:

MLB World Series Champion from LSU

  • INF Alvin Dark, New York Giants – 1954 (player); Oakland Athletics – 1974 (manager)
  • 1B Joe Bill Adcock, Milwaukee Braves – 1957
  • LHP Mark Guthrie, Minnesota Twins – 1991
  • LHP Eddie Yarnall, New York Yankees – 1999 and 2000
  • LHP Randy Keisler, New York Yankees – 2000
  • RHP Russ Springer, Arizona Diamondbacks – 2001
  • RHP Curtis Leskanic, Boston Red Sox – 2004
  • RHP Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants – 2010 and 2012
  • INF Mike Fontenot, San Francisco Giants – 2010
  • LHP Brian Tallet, St. Louis Cardinals – 2011
  • INF Ryan Theriot, St. Louis Cardinals – 2011; San Francisco Giants – 2012
  • RHP Louis Coleman, Kansas City Royals – 2015
  • 3B Alex Bregman, Houston Astros – 2017 and 2022
  • RHP Will Harris, Houston Astros – 2017
  • Andrew Stevenson, Washington Nationals – 2019
Also Read :  Disney World increases ticket prices for second time in a year


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button