Election Results, Assembly Bypolls On 7 Seats In 6 States: Tight Contest In Telangana, BJP Ahead In 4 States In Key Polls: 10 Points

Counting starts at 8am and results are usually available by noon. (image used for representation)

New Delhi:
Election results for seven parliamentary seats in six states will be announced today. The battle for prestige is going on in Bihar and Telangana and the family legacy in Haryana is coming.

Here are 10 points that outline the implications of these elections:

  1. After the previous rounds, the BJP leads in Gola Gokrannath in Uttar Pradesh, Adampur in Haryana, Gopalganj in Bihar and Dhamnagar in Odisha, while Tejashwi Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal leads in Bihar Bang’s Mokama leads. K Chandrashekar’s Rao’s Telangana Rashtriya Samithi leads in Munugode while Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena faction will win in Mumbai’s Andheri East seat.

  2. Of the seven seats, the BJP holds three, Congress two, while Shiv Senna and RJD have one each before a vote is required. Two of the seats are in Bihar, one each in UP, Haryana, Maharashtra, Telangana and Odisha.

  3. Bihar has seen its first match since Nitish Kumar dumped BJP to restore JDU’s alliance with Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD – ​​in two seats. RJD candidate Neelam Devi, wife of Anant Singh, who was disqualified for illegal possession of a firearm, leads Mokama. In Gopalganj, the RJD wants to overthrow the BJP, which has been in control for almost 20 years. It pits Mohan Prasad Gupta against BJP’s Kusum Devi, whose husband Subhas Singh’s death necessitated the election.

  4. In Haryana, Adampur, the family seat of former chief minister Bhajan Lal, will decide whether his grandson Bhavya Bishnoi can carry on the 68-year legacy after switching from Congress to the BJP. Bhavya’s father, Kuldeep Bishnoi, who led the family to the BJP, resigned from the Adampur MLA when he defected, leading to the vote.

  5. Andheri East in Maharashtra has two firsts. This is the first poll since Shiv Sena was split in two as Eknath Shinde replaced Udhaf Sak with the help of the BJP Ray (Uddhav Thackeray) became Chief Minister. It was the first time in decades that the Thackeray-led Sena had a new name – Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) – and a new symbol, the “mashaal” or burning torch.

  6. Shiv Sena (Uddhav) candidate Rutuja Latke is the widow of a former Sena MLA from Andheri (East) who passed away in May 2022 following a heart attack in Dubai. The BJP has withdrawn its candidacy as part of a “political tradition” that had to be conducted due to the leader’s death.

  7. In Telangana, Munugod saw the ruling TRS and its arch-rival the Bharatiya Janata Party battling on the ground, with allegations involving “tens of millions of rupees” – especially in light of Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao Intended to challenge Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ambitions in 2024. The Congressional MLA has resigned and is now fighting for the BJP vote.

  8. In Dhamnagar, Odisha, the ruling party of regions, the BJD, also faces the BJP. BJP won it last time, but the death of MLA Bishnu Charan Sethi led to the match. It sent his son.

  9. In its stronghold UP, the BJP is seeking to retain the Gola Gokarannath seat, which was vacant following the death of its MLA Arvind Giri on September 6. The BSP and Congress are keeping their distance, so this is a direct fight between Aman Giri, son of Arvind Giri (BJP), and Vinay Tiwari, former MLA of the Samajwadi Party.

  10. None of these contests is likely to disrupt current state government math. But as regional parties look to build a united front for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections – just a year and a half away – these could be boosters or cognitive disruptors, depending on the outcome.

Also Read :  Rishi Sunak front-runner to be Britain's new prime minister after Boris Johnson drops out


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button